At each ISPO World Congress, ISPO recognises outstanding achievements through various awards and prizes.

  • Bryan and Joyce Blatchford Team Prize for Innovation

    Established by the Blatchford Family to honour the memory of Mr. Brian Blatchford and Mrs. Joyce Blatchford, the prize is awarded to a team that has an outstanding record of innovative achievement in the field of prosthetics and/or orthotics, which should be related to prosthetic and/or orthotic hardware, or scientifically based new techniques that result in better prostheses or orthotics. 

  • Forchheimer Prize

    Established by the Forchheimer Family to honour the memory of Sylvia and Alfred Forchheimer, the prize is awarded to the most outstanding paper on objective clinical assessment, clinical evaluation or clinical measurement published in Prosthetics and Orthotics International during the years prior to the World Congress. 

  • Sepp Heim Award

    The award honors Sepp Heim's significant lifetime contributions to ISPO and to the development of mobility devices, services and education in less resourced settings. It recognises an individual or an institution/organisation that have made significant contributions to the development and/or provision of appropriate mobility device services in less resourced settings.

  • Knud Jansen Lecture

    The Knud Jansen Lecture was initiated by ISPO in honour of its founding President. It is delivered at the ISPO World Congress opening ceremony by an eminent person selected by the Executive Board, which has made significant contributions by servicing ISPO, or the field of prosthetics and orthotics by keeping with the vision and aims of ISPO.

Award Guidelines

Read all details on ISPO awards in the guidelines.

Knud Jansen Lecture

Click here to learn about the Knud Jansen Lecture and see the list of past presenters